FDJ in Algarve with the team leaders

The French team from WorldTour level FDJ will attend the 43rd Volta ao Algarve (15-19 February 2017) with its main cyclists and probably will fight both for the stages and the overall classification.

Thibaut Pinot, third at 2014 Tour de France and fourth at 2016 Volta ao Algarve, is for sure one of the most importante contenders for the yellow jersey. The French Time Trial National Champion will have in Algarve one of the first big challenges of the season.

The Swiss Sébastien Reichenbach, Pinot’s lieutenant on the stage races – during the 2016 campaign he was fourth at Tirreno – Adriático and had top 15 positions at Tour de France, Romandia, Basque Country and Algarve – will also be a reference for the general classification.

For the sprint finishes, the French team registered to Algarve the winner of the 2016 Milan-Sanremo, Arnaud Démare. He will have their men of confidence to the sprint train: Marc Sarreau, Jacopo Guarnieri and the Lithuanian Time Trial Champion, Ignatas Konovalovas. William Bonnet and Tobias Ludvigsson are also registered.

The strong FDJ team joins the Katusha-Alpecin high quality block on the provisional peloton of the Volta ao Algarve. Tony Martin, Tiago Machado, Simon Spilak and José Gonçalves are the main names of the Katusha-Alpecin roster for Algarve.

WorldTour: Astana (KAZ), Bora-hansgrohe (GER), Cannondale-Drapac (USA), Dimension Data (RSA), FDJ (FRA), Katusha-Alpecin (SUI), Lotto NL-Jumbo (NED), Lotto Soudal (BEL), Movistar (ESP), Quick-Step Floors (BEL) and Team Sky (GBR).
Continental Professional: Caja Rural-Seguros RGA (ESP), Cofidis (FRA), Gazprom-RusVelo (RUS), Manzana Postobón (COL), Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij (NED) and Wanty-Groupe Gobert (BEL)
Continental: Efapel, LA Alumínios-Metalusa, Louletano-Hospital de Loulé, RP-Boavista, Sporting-Tavira and W52-FC Porto (POR), and Rally Cycling (USA)

15 February – 1st Stage: Albufeira – Lagos, 180,3 km
16 February – 2nd Stage: Lagoa – Fóia (Monchique), 189,3 km
17 February – 3rd Stage: Sagres – Sagres (C/R Individual), 18 km
18 February – 4th Stage: Almodôvar – Tavira, 203,4 km
19 February – 5th Stage: Loulé – Malhão, 179,2 km