Alpecin-Deceuninck and Astana also confirmed for Algarve

The number of WorlTeams confirmed for the 50th edition of the Volta ao Algarve, which will take place between 14 and 18 February 2024, has risen to six. To the four teams previously announced, we can today add the confirmation of Belgian team Alpecin-Deceuninck and Astana Qazaqstan Team, from Kazakhstan.

After its absence in 2023, Astana returns to a race in which it has an impressive palmares. The Kazakh team won the general classification in 2009 and 2010, through Alberto Contador.

In addition, the blue-clad jersey have won five stages in the Volta ao Algarve. Alberto Contador won in Tavira in 2009 and at the top of Malhão in 2020. Tomas Vaitkus won the sprint in Lagos in 2008. Luis León Sánchez was the best in Alto da Fóia in 2016 and Miguel Ángel López triumphed in Malhão in 2020, when he came third overall.

This will be Astana Qazaqstan Team’s eleventh appearance in the Volta ao Algarve.

The Belgians from Alpecin-Deceuninck will be competing in the Volta ao Algarve for the fourth time. As the newest team, their presence in the Portuguese race has accompanied the growth of the Belgian bloc itself, in its transition from ProTeam to WorldTeam.

Alpecin-Deceuninck are still looking for their first victory in the Portuguese race, but have already won the mountain classification in 2020, a success signed by Dries de Bondt.

The 50th Volta ao Algarve squad already has six confirmed teams, all from the WorldTour: Alpecin-Deceuninck (BEL), Arkea-B&B Hotels (FRA), Astana Qazaqstan Team (CAZ), BORA-hansgrohe (GER), Groupama-FDJ (FRA) and Team dsm-firmenich (HOL).