Sunweb with young talents and Emirates with Martin

The Team Sunweb and the UAE Team Emirates will participate for the first time in the Volta ao Algarve on the next edition, from 14th to 18th February. The provisional roster of both teams shows a list of riders able to be protagonists. After a dream season in 2017, with podiums at Paris-Nice, Dauphiné, Liège-Bastogne-Liège and Flèche Wallone and top … Read More

Katusha, FDJ and Caja Rural announce their rosters for Algarve

Less than two months before the start of the 44th Volta ao Algarve (14-18 February) we begin to know the plans of the teams for the Portuguese 2.HC race. The Team Katusha Alpecin will fight for the yellow jersey. The list of riders sent to the organization of the race shows some riders able for the wiining battle. The German … Read More

Record number of WorldTour teams in 2018

The 44th Volta ao Algarve (14-18 February 2018) will be attended by 13 WorldTour teams, a record in the Portuguese race that received 12 first division teams in each one of the last two editions. The peloton of the Volta ao Algarve will have 25 teams of 7 riders. The best six teams of the 2017 World Ranking will be … Read More

One of the Portuguese best events presented today

The 44th edition of the Volta ao Algarve, which will be held from 14 to 18 February 2018, was presented today in Faro. The Portuguese Cycling Federation, organizer of the race, wants to cement the Volta ao Algarve as one of the best Portuguese sporting events and wants to show the Algarve as one of the best places in world … Read More

Volta ao Algarve announces 2018 host cities

The 44th edition of the Volta ao Algarve will take place in the south of Portugal from 14 to 18 February 2018. The five stages will have a design similar to previous editions, providing opportunities for sprinters, climbers and timetrialists. At the beginning of December, we will announce the detailed route, which will include some surprises, especially at the arrival … Read More

44th Volta ao Algarve with traditional route in 2018

The 2018 edition of the Volta ao Algarve will be on the road from 14 to 18 February. For the second consecutive year will be a 2.HC competition, the top category outside of WorldTour. The five stages of the 2018 Volta ao Algarve will have similar characteristics to the stages of previous years. The route is still being drawn, but the concept remains … Read More

Algarve Granfondo 2018 will be held in Tavira

The Algarve Granfondo, the mass participation event of the Volta ao Algarve, will take place in Tavira on the 17th February 2018. Last year, the Algarve Granfondo had more than 800 participants, in Loulé. The 2018 will have a new route that will be known this November. We will open the registration process during this month.  

Primoz Roglic wins the Volta ao Algarve

The Slovenian Primoz Roglic (Team Lotto NL-Jumbo) won today the 43rd Volta ao Algarve, after the fifth stage, with a finish at the top of Malhão, won by local rider Amaro Antunes (W52-FC Porto). The 179.2km stage, between the centre of Loulé and the top of Malhão, started fast, with more than 50 kilometres in the first hour. But the … Read More

André Greipel beats Degenkolb in Tavira

André Greipel (Lotto Soudal) won today the fourth stage of the Volta ao Algarve in a close sprint with compatriot John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo). Primoz Roglic (Lotto NL-Jumbo) secured the “Camisola amarela”. Tomorrow the Volta ao Algarve will finish a top of Malhão. After 203,4 km from Almôdovar German Champion, André Greipel was almost surprised in the last 50 meters, having … Read More

Time trial to Castroviejo Yellow Jersey to Roglic

Jonathan Castroviejo (Movistar Team) won the third stage of the Volta ao Algarve, an 18-kilometer individual time trial that led Slovenian Primoz Roglic (Team Lotto NL-Jumbo) to the top of the overall standings. The time trial of the Volta ao Algarve held in Sagres allowed Spaniard Jonathan Castroviejo to win for the first time wearing the European Champion Jersey. The … Read More