Sunweb with young talents and Emirates with Martin

The Team Sunweb and the UAE Team Emirates will participate for the first time in the Volta ao Algarve on the next edition, from 14th to 18th February. The provisional roster of both teams shows a list of riders able to be protagonists.
After a dream season in 2017, with podiums at Paris-Nice, Dauphiné, Liège-Bastogne-Liège and Flèche Wallone and top 10 at Tour de France, Volta Catalunya, Comunitat Valenciana and Algarve (stage winner at Fóia and one day with yellow jersey), Daniel Martin joined the UAE Team Emirates to be the leader at Tour.
The Irish Daniel Martin will lead the team also at the Volta ao Algarve. The UAE Team Emirates registered also the British sprinter Ben Swift, alongside the Italian riders Valerio Conti and Edward Ravasi, the Norwegian Vegard Stake Laengen, the Sloveniam Jan Polanc and the Australian Rory Sutherland.
The German Team Sunweb will come to Algarve with a strong group of young talents, riders with evidence given at U23 level. For the first time in Algarve, the Team Sunweb will fight for sure for the youth classification and for the top 10 on the overall. The provisional roster includes the Dutch Sam Oomen and Lennard Hofstede, the German Lennard Kämna, the Australian Jai Hindley and the Belgian Louis Vervaeke. The youngsters will be supported by the most experienced riders Laurens Tem Dam and Simon Geschke.
February 14: 1st Stage: Albufeira – Lagos, 192,6 km
February 15: 2nd Stage: Sagres – Fóia (Monchique), 187,9 km
February 16: 3rd Stage: Lagoa – Lagoa, 20,3 km (ITT)
February 17: 4th Stage: Almodôvar – Tavira, 199,2 km
February 18: 5th Stage: Faro – Malhão (Loulé), 173,5 km
Last winners
2017 – Primoz Roglic (Team Lotto NL-Jumbo)
2016 – Geraint Thomas (Sky)
2015 – Geraint Thomas (Sky)
2014 – Michal Kwiatkowski (Omega Pharma-QuickStep)
2013 – Tony Martin (Omega Pharma-QuickStep)
2012 – Richie Porte (Sky)
2011 – Tony Martin (HTC-Highroad)
2010 – Alberto Contador (Astana)
2009 – Alberto Contador (Astana)
2008 – Stijn Devolder (QuickStep)