Volta ao Algarve announces 2018 host cities

The 44th edition of the Volta ao Algarve will take place in the south of Portugal from 14 to 18 February 2018. The five stages will have a design similar to previous editions, providing opportunities for sprinters, climbers and timetrialists.
At the beginning of December, we will announce the detailed route, which will include some surprises, especially at the arrival of the second stage and in the time trial. We can, however, advance the host cities of each stage.
The race starts on the 14th with a stage of sprinters, linking Albufeira to Lagos. The climbers will have their first opportunity on the second day of the competition, a journey that starts in Sagres and ends at the top of the Fóia, which will be reached by a longest climb than in the previous two years.
The third stage will be an individual time trial, totally different from the one played in recent years. It will be more demanding, with departure and arrival in Lagoa.
On the fourth day, the peloton leaves Almodôvar and finishes the trip in Tavira, predictable with a sprint battle for the glory. It will be a day of great cycling agitation in Tavira, which also hosts the Algarve Granfondo, in which more than 800 participants are expected.
The race ends, as is the tradition, with an arrival at the top of Malhão, in the municipality of Loulé. This time, the start will be from Faro, marking the return of this city to the route of the race.
The Volta ao Algarve has, for the second year in a row, the 2.HC category. This cycling race is one of the best sporting events in Portugal. The 2017 edition featured 12 WorldTour teams. Negotiations are under way to build an excellent peloton in 2018. We have contacts with about 40 teams and we will select 25 teams to start the race.
First Stage: Albufeira – Lagos
Second Stage: Sagres – Fóia
Third Stage: Lagoa – Lagoa (ITT)
Fourth Stage: Almodôvar – Tavira
Fifth Stage: Faro – Malhão
Last Winners of the Volta ao Algarve
2017 – Primoz Roglic (Team Lotto NL-Jumbo)
2016 – Geraint Thomas (Sky)
2015 – Geraint Thomas (Sky)
2014 – Michal Kwiatkowski (Omega Pharma-QuickStep)
2013 – Tony Martin (Omega Pharma-QuickStep)
2012 – Richie Porte (Sky)
2011 – Tony Martin (HTC-Highroad)
2010 – Alberto Contador (Astana)
2009 – Alberto Contador (Astana)
2008 – Stijn Devolder (QuickStep)
Last stage wiiners
2017 – Fernando Gaviria (QuickStep-Floors)
2011 – John Degenkolb (HTC-High Road)
2010 – André Greipel (Team HTC-Columbia)
2009 – Koldo Fernández (Euskaltel-Euskadi)
2008 – Tomas Vaitkus (Astana)
2017 – Daniel Martin (QuickStep-Floors)
2016 – Luis León Sánchez (Astana)
2002 – Alex Zülle (Team Coast)
2001 – José Azevedo (ONCE)
2000 – José Azevedo (Maia-MSS)
2013 – Theo Bos (Blanco)
2012 – Edvald Boasson Hagen (Sky)
2004 – Martin Garrido (Barbot-Gaia)
2017 – André Greipel (Lotto Soudal)
2016 – Marcel Kittel (Etixx-QuickStep)
2013 – Tony Martin (Omega Pharma-QuickStep)
2012 – Gerald Ciolek (Omega Pharma-QuickStep)
2011 – André Greipel (Omega Pharma-Lotto)
2017 – Amaro Antunes (W52-FC Porto)
2016 – Alberto Contador (Tinkoff)
2015 – Richie Porte (Sky)
2014 – Alberto Contador (Tinkoff-Saxo)
2013 – Sergio Henao (Sky)